- Advertisement -

Upper East GJA Awards: 10 Journalists to be awarded

- Advertisement -

The Upper East Branch of the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) is set to award 10 journalists in its 2nd Edition of awards on October 6, 2023.

With a total of 19 categories of awards, 17 of those awards will be won by 10 individual journalists, while two would be awarded to two media houses. There will also be five honorary awards.

The Journalists to be awarded include Castro Senyalah (Asaase Radio), Nicholas Azebire (Dreamz FM), Moses Apiah (A1 Radio), Anthony Adongo Apubeo (Ghana News Agency), Simon Agana Blessing (Word FM), Joshua Asaah (A1 Radio), Chidozie Stephen (ApexNewsGh), Albert Sore (JoyNew & Joy FM), Nelson Abagna (GBC URA Radio), and David Azure (A1 Radio).

This was contained in a press release released by the Upper East Regional Chairman of the GJA, William Nlanjerbor Jalulah, and copied to A1 Radio.

Parts of the statement read, “I am pleased to announce that all is set for the 2nd Edition of the Upper East Regional Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) Awards, slated for October 6, 2023, at GNAT Hall in Bolgatanga. Time: 6:00PM”.

“On the night of the ceremony, a total of nineteen (19) award categories will be won. Seventeen (17) of those awards will go to ten (10) deserving individual journalists, while two (2) will go to two (2) radio stations. There will also be five honorary awards”, it added.

The ceremony is to be held on the theme “Safeguarding the Peace and Security of the Upper East Region: The Role of the Media.”

It will be recalled that on July 27, 2023, the Upper East GJA inaugurated a 3-member Awards Vetting Committee at the launch of the 2nd Edition of the Upper East GJA Awards in Bolgatanga.

The members included Prof. David Millar, founder and president of Millar Open University, who was the chairman of the committee, while multiple GJA Award winner and lecturer at Bolgatanga Technical University, Mr. Samuel Akapule, and Upper East Regional Director of the Commission on Human Rights and Administrative Justice, Lawyer Jalaudeen Abdulai, were members.

They were tasked to receive and vet entries submitted by the applicants and the entries covered work done by journalists working in the Upper East Region from January 1 to December 31, 2022.

The ceremony is set to be chaired by the Regional Patron of the GJA and Paramount Chief of the Talensi Traditional Area, His Royal Highness Tongraan Kugbilsong Nanlebegtang. The Guest of Honour is the Minister for Information, Hon. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah. A delegation from the national executive of the GJA will be led by the Vice President of the GJA, Linda Asante Agyei (Mrs.), and the General Secretary of the GJA, Mr. Kofi Yeboah.

Source:A1radioonline.Com|101.1MHz|Gilbert Azeem Tiroog|Bolgatanga


- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related news

- Advertisement -