- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -

A contingent of 16 players led by skipper Andre Ayew has arrived in Cape Coast to continue preparations for the Black Stars’ AFCON 2021 qualifier against Sudan.

Coach CK Akonnor’s squad was boosted by the addition of six players yesterday after only 10 players turned up for the opening day of training at the La McDan Town Park in Accra.

The list of players at Monday’s session included captain Andre Ayew (Swansea City), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Emmanuel Lomotey, Afriyie Acquah, John Antwi, Razak Abalora, Tariq Fosu, Kwadwo Amoako, Samuel Owusu and Nicholas Opoku.

The list was further boosted by the addition of six players today including Chelsea reserve player Baba Abdul Rahman who last played for the team at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt. Also on the list of latest inclusions are France-based duo Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg FC) and John Boye (FC Metz) as well as Christopher Nettey (Kumasi Asante Kotoko), Lawrence Ati-Zigi (St Gallen) and striker Caleb Ekuban (Trabzonspor).

Meanwhile, Akonnor is still awaiting the arrival of nine players including the quartet of Andrew Kyere Yiadom (Reading FC), Majeed Ashimeru (Red Bull Salzburg), Joseph Attamah Larweh (Kayserispor) and Clifford Aboagye (Tijuana FC) who he handed late call-ups on Monday for international duty.

Also yet to touch base with the team are five players named in Akonnor’s original 23-man squad, namely; goalie Richard Ofori (Orlando Pirates FC), defenders Gideon Mensah (Vitoria de Guimaraes), Anang Benson (MSK Zilina) and Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo) as well as wing-back Jeffery Schlupp (Crystal Palace).

The Black Stars will travel to Khartoum to play Sudan on November 17 in the reverse tie.


  1. Andre Ayew
  2. Jordan Ayew
  3. Emmanuel Lomotey
  4. Afriyie Acquah
  5. John Antwi
  6. Razak Abalora
  7. Tariq Fosu
  8. Kwadwo Amoako
  9. Samuel Owusu
  10. Nicholas Opoku
  11. Alexander Djiku
  12. John Boye
  13. Christopher Nettey
  14. Lawrence Ati-Zigi
  15. Caleb Ekuban
  16. Baba Abdul Rahman

Yet to report;

  1. Andrew Kyere Yiadom (Reading FC)
  2. Majeed Ashimeru (Red Bull Salzburg)
  3. Joseph Attamah Larweh (Kayserispor)
  4. Clifford Aboagye (Tijuana FC).
  5. Richard Ofori (Orlando Pirates FC)
  6. Anang Benson (MSK Zilina)
  7. Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo)
  8. Jeffery Schlupp (Crystal Palace)
  9. Gideon Mensah (Vitoria de Guimaraes)


Source: graphic onliine

- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related news

- Advertisement -